The Boy I Am by K.L. Kettle - Empire Book Store | Authentic Books in Cheap Prices

The Boy I Am by K.L. Kettle

Regular price
₱531.00
Sale price
₱531.00
Regular price
₱799.00
Sold out
Unit price
per 

With echoes of Noughts and Crosses and The Power, Kettle’s brilliantly imagined dystopia plays clever tricks with gender and authority roles as a teenage boy finds himself caught up in an elaborate assassination plot.

They say we're dangerous. But we're not that different.

Jude is running out of time. Once a year, lucky young men in the House of Boys are auctioned to the female elite. But if Jude fails to be selected before he turns seventeen, a future deep underground in the mines awaits.

Yet ever since the death of his best friend at the hands of the all-powerful Chancellor, Jude has been desperate to escape the path set out for him. Finding himself entangled in a plot to assassinate the Chancellor, he finally has a chance to avenge his friend and win his freedom. But at what price?

A speculative YA thriller, tackling themes of traditional gender roles and power dynamics, for fans of Malorie Blackman, Louise O'Neill and The Power.


Number of pages: 384 
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm