When I Come Home Again : 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020 by Caroline Scott - Empire Book Store

When I Come Home Again : 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020 by Caroline Scott

Regular price
₱579.00
Sale price
₱579.00
Regular price
₱699.00
Sold out
Unit price
per 

‘A page-turning literary gem’ --  THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020

From the highly acclaimed author of The Photographer of the Lost, a BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick, comes a beautiful and compelling story based on true events, perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore.

One Great War soldier with no memory.
Three women who claim him as their own.

1918. 
A soldier is arrested in Durham Cathedral in the last week of the First World War, but he has no memory of who he is or how he came to be there.

He is given the name Adam and transferred to a rehabilitation institution in the Lake District where Doctor James Haworth is determined to uncover his identity. But, unwilling to relive the trauma of war, Adam has locked his memory away, seemingly for good.
 
Then a newspaper publishes a feature about Adam, and three women come forward, each claiming that he is someone she lost in the war. But without memory, how do you know who to believe?

Based on true events, When I Come Home Again is a beautiful and compelling story about love, loss and longing in the aftermath of war, perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore.



Praise for When I Come Home Again:

‘A superb and quietly devastating novel’ --  The Times, Book of the Month

'Scott unravels her haunting tale in unpretentious but persuasive prose'v Sunday Times

‘A heartbreaking read… I highly recommend it’ -- Anita Frank


Number of Pages: 496
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30mm